The Entire MCU Timeline Explained (Phases 1-4)

Jan. 12, 2023

3 min read

The Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) is a series of superhero movies produced by Marvel Studios and set within the same continuity. The movies are divided into phases, with Phases 1, 2, 3 and 4 being the first four phases in the timeline of the MCU:

Phase 1:

  • "Iron Man" (2008)
  • "The Incredible Hulk" (2008)
  • "Iron Man 2" (2010)
  • "Thor" (2011)
  • "Captain America: The First Avenger" (2011)
  • "The Avengers" (2012)

This phase introduces the main characters of the MCU and sets the stage for The Avengers team-up movie, which brings together Iron Man, Thor, Captain America, Hulk, Black Widow and Hawkeye.

Phase 2:

  • "Iron Man 3" (2013)
  • "Thor: The Dark World" (2013)
  • "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" (2014)
  • "Guardians of the Galaxy" (2014)
  • "Avengers: Age of Ultron" (2015)
  • "Ant-Man" (2015)

This phase explores the aftermath of The Avengers and expands the universe with the introduction of new characters such as the Guardians of the Galaxy and the introduction of the concept of the infinity stones and their quest to prevent Thanos from acquiring them.

Phase 3:

  • "Captain America: Civil War" (2016)
  • "Doctor Strange" (2016)
  • "Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2" (2017)
  • "Spider-Man: Homecoming" (2017)
  • "Thor: Ragnarok" (2017)
  • "Black Panther" (2018)
  • "Avengers: Infinity War" (2018)
  • "Ant-Man and the Wasp" (2018)
  • "Captain Marvel" (2019)
  • "Avengers: Endgame" (2019)

This phase explores the characters dealing with the consequences of the previous phases and the final showdown with Thanos and the conclusion of the story arc of the infinity stones.

Phase 4:

  • "Spider-Man: No Way Home" (2021)
  • "Black Widow" (2021)
  • "Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings" (2021)
  • "Eternals" (2021)
  • "Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse" (2021)
  • "Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness" (2022)
  • "Thor: Love and Thunder" (2022)
  • "Black Panther: Wakanda Forever" (2022)
  • "Captain Marvel 2" (2022)
  • "Blade" (TBA)
  • "The Fantastic Four" (TBA)
  • "Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania" (TBA)

This phase is planned to explore new characters and possibilities within the MCU, with a focus on introducing new stories, new heroes and new concepts. Also, this phase will be the continuation of the story after Avengers: Endgame, it also introduces the concept of a multiverse and different versions of characters.

It's worth mentioning that these dates may have changed due to the global pandemic.

It should also be noted that MCU also has a diverse range of TV shows under Marvel studios like Daredevil, Agents of shield, Agent Carter, Runaways, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, The Punisher, WandaVision, The Falcon and The Winter Soldier, Loki, and more that also play a role in the overall narrative


Entertainment MCU Marvel Comics Appreciate you stopping by my post! 😊

Add a comment

Note: If you use these tags, write your text inside the HTML tag.
Login Required