T20 World Cup: India beat Zimbabwe by 71 runs, became number one in Group-2, will face England in the semi-finals

Nov. 7, 2022

3 min read

After Suryakumar Yadav's unbeaten inning, the Indian bowlers showed amazing performance in the Melbourne ground. India beat Zimbabwe by a huge margin of 71 runs. Chasing the target of 187 runs, Zimbabwe's team was bundled out for 115 runs.

R Ashwin took three wickets for India. Mohammed Shami and Hardik Pandya took two wickets each. One wicket each came in the account of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh and Axar Patel.

With this win, the Indian team reached the first position in Group 2.

The Indian team will play the semi-final against England in Adelaide on November 10. Pakistan's team will face New Zealand in the semi-finals on November 9.

In Sunday's match against Zimbabwe, India got the first success from the very first ball, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

He got Wesley Madhevar caught by Virat Kohli. He could not even open the account. In the next over, Arshdeep Singh bowled Chakbwa. He also did not score any runs.

Shaun Williams was dismissed by Mohammed Shami in the sixth over. Williams scored 11 runs.

In the seventh over, Hardik Pandya caught Craig Ervine on his own ball. He scored 13 runs.

In the eighth over, Shami gave Zimbabwe the fifth blow. He dismissed Tony Munionga (5 runs). Half of Zimbabwe's team had returned to the pavilion on the score of just 36 runs.

After ten overs, Zimbabwe's score was 59 for five. In the last 60 balls, the team had to score 128 runs to win.

After the arrival of the spinners, Zimbabwe's batsmen started scoring runs easily. Sikandar Raza and Ryan Burle targeted the Indian bowlers.

R Ashwin broke the pair engaged in the difference of defeat. He bowled Burle (35 runs). Burle added 60 runs with Raza. After this, Ashwin got Wellington Maskadza (1 run) caught by Rohit Sharma. In the same over, he bowled Richard Nagarwa (1 run).

Hardik Pandya gave India the ninth success by dismissing Sikandar Raza (34 runs). Axar Patel took the last wicket.

Earlier, KL Rahul scored 51 and Suryakumar Yadav scored an unbeaten 61 (25 balls) for India. He hit six fours and four visible sixes. Indian batsmen added 79 runs in the last five overs. Of these, 56 runs (19 balls) came off the bat of Suryakumar.

On the strength of Suryakumar's unmatched innings, the Indian team managed to reach a strong score of 186 runs for five wickets in 20 overs.

Shaun Williams took two wickets for Zimbabwe.

The Indian team had already made it to the semi-finals before landing in Melbourne on Sunday. The Netherlands' victory over South Africa made India the first team to reach the semi-finals from Group 2. Pakistan defeated Bangladesh to secure a place in the semi-finals.

After the unexpected gift from the Netherlands, it was expected that Rohit Sharma and his fellow batsmen would play without pressure.

The match was also at the ground where the Indian team started its campaign against Pakistan in the T20 World Cup on 23 October.

Captain Rohit Sharma also won the toss in Sunday's match against Zimbabwe. Rohit Sharma (15 runs) could not play a big innings but his fellow opener KL Rahul took the good news of the Zimbabwe bowlers.

Cricket Semi-final Final T-20 Appreciate you stopping by my post! 😊

Add a comment

Note: If you use these tags, write your text inside the HTML tag.
Login Required